Rainbow Salad

This was one of the very first salads I made using foraged ingredients from a local forest. Given the option all of the non-foraged foods would be organic and home-grown, but sometimes you just have to settle for what’s available.

It’s also the first time I’d eaten a flower! And what a flower to choose for that first taste. My goodness, these violets were incredible…reminded me so much of those little parma violet sweets we used to buy for a penny when I was young (yes, a long time ago, given they were only a penny, wink, wink).

Here’s what you can see in the salad:

  • Orange
  • Violets (foraged)
  • Tomato
  • Courgette
  • Onion
  • Banana
  • Dandelion leaves (foraged)
  • Frilly Parsley (well that’s what I call it)

and I think some onion too…

Served with some red rice and a dressing of olive oil, soy sauce and balsamic vinegar and then top it off with a couple of teaspoons of gomasio (seasame seeds and himalaya rock salt is my home-made mix) and you’ve got a great meal full of all the colours, vitamins and protein you need.

Bon Appetite!

Leave a Reply

