Recommended Reads for 2016

So recently I caught up on some reading! You might be thinking there’s no big deal about that, but being EMF sensitive and living in a country that doesn’t speak my native language (no offence, lol), I no longer have the privilege of spending hours musing around the book stores, something I loved to do in the past.

In fact, it’s not just my sensitivity that’s put paid to that experience but the increasing trend of digital books and readers and reducing numbers of actual book shops. I just can’t get the feel for reading for pleasure off a screen. For me, part of the reading experience is the feel of the pages and the smell of the book, new and old alike…mmm, lovely!

I browsed Amazon once for books but found that when I finally had a basket full of long anticipated reads, the postage was more than the cost of the books. Of course that’s a no-brainer, and a no-booker too. Then I found a real gem: www.awesomebooks.com . This site offers second hand and new books for sale and charges only 2.99 GBP for all international deliveries, and so I went on a bit of a spree.

So far I’ve had the pleasure of restocking my books shelves with some favourites I had to leave behind in India like:

  • Neale Donald Walsch’s Conversations with God (I, II & III), Tomorrows God and New Revelations
  • Rohinton Mistry’s A Fine Balance, Such a Long Journey and Family Matters
  • Gregory David Roberts’s Shantaram

and then I decided to read/re-read some classics too:

  • Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women
  • Aldous Huxley’s A Brave New World
  • George Orwell’s 1984
  • Gerald Durrell’s My Family and Other Animals

Finally, I found some new gems to add to my favourites list:

  • Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief
  • Jonas Jonasson’s The Hundred-Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared
  • Amitav Ghosh’s The Hungry Tide
  • John Boyne’s The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas
  • Tom Cox’s The Good, The Bad & The Furry

and I still have a few others which I haven’t yet read. It seems that my cat Milou also likes a good read too…

Happy Reading!

Love & light

Louise (aka Mermie)

 

Leave a Reply

